Loading Events

« All Events

Hybrid Hybrid Event
  • This event has passed.

2022-2023 Masterworks Concert Series – Season Finale – Evergreen

June 4, 2023 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Hybrid Hybrid Event
$10 – $25


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Beethoven, Bruch, and Hill

ECO’s 2022-2023 Masterworks Concert Series comes to a close with a very fitting finale! Our Season Finale concert features two great works by Beethoven alongside two fantastic showpieces for viola featuring CSO Principal Violist Basil Vendryes!

The concert program begins with Ludwig van Beethoven’s Overture from “The Creatures of Prometheus”. Composed in 1801, this work is the only full-length ballet composed by Beethoven. The libretto is an allegory based on the mythical story of Prometheus, who stole fire from Zeus to create mankind from clay. Overtures from ballets and operas typically become popular concert pieces for orchestral performances, and the overture from this ballet is no exception.

The concert continues with Max Bruch’s famous Romanze for Viola and String Orchestra. Originally composed in 1911 for Maurice Vieux, the principal violist at the Paris Opera and Conservatoire Orchestra, this lovely eight-minute work features beautiful, sweeping melodies characteristic of the late romantic style.

Next, the world-premiere performance of ECO Music Director William Hill’s new composition – his Concerto for Viola, Strings, and Percussion! Mr. Hill’s compositions are at once strikingly unique yet intimately familiar – we are very much looking forward to hearing this new piece, even more so considering Basil Vendryes will be the soloist!

Our 2022-2023 Season will conclude with a performance of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68. Known as the “Pastorale” Symphony, Op. 68 was composed in 1808 simultaneously with his universally popular Fifth Symphony. The Sixth Symphony is unique in Beethoven’s oeuvre in that it is one of the few pieces containing explicitly programmatic content. Each movement’s narrative is offered through its title and correlates with the music in an imaginative manner. Beethoven’s love for nature and the outdoors is greatly reflected in the expression of this piece. The symphony has five movements without any pauses between the final three movements.


Ludwig van Beethoven

The Creatures of Prometheus, Op. 43

I – Overture

Max Bruch

Romanze, Op. 85

Basil Vendryes – Viola

William Hill

Concerto for Viola, Strings, and Percussion

Basil Vendryes – Viola

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 6, Op. 68 – “Pastorale”

I – Allegro ma non troppo – “Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande”

II – Andante molto mosso – “Szene am Bach”

III – Allegro – “Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute”

IV – Allegro – “Gewitter, Sturm”

V – Allegretto – “Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm”


June 4, 2023
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
$10 – $25
Event Category:


Evergreen Chamber Orchestra
View Organizer Website


Evergreen Lutheran Church
5980 County Hwy 73
Evergreen, CO 80439 United States
+ Google Map