ECO Musical Moments

No. 16 - 5/29/2020

Tonight’s ECO Musical Moment features our performance of Prokofiev’s so-called “Classical” Symphony Op. 25 at our Masterworks Concert Series Fall Concert. 

Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony is composed and constructed loosely in the style of Haydn – but, unlike so many other works composed “in the style of…” it does not contain any direct quotations. In some ways, this work can be considered one of the very first “neoclassical” compositions. Prokofiev noted in his journals from 1916 – 1917 that he planned to compose this work without the use of a piano, which had – up to this point – been central to his compositional workflow. 

Categories: ECO Musical Moments


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder